Day Six: Hell House

Image

 

I can’t even begin to comment on this documentary without opening far too many cans of worms. This is insane and I don’t think I understand the extreme opinions that ‘faithful christians’ have on such hot button issues as abortions, suicides, school shootings, homosexuality etc. Presenting these things in a ‘haunted house’ format is so crazy. I hated everything about what these people thought was a good way of passing along the word of ‘God’.

Churches like these, with ‘Christians’ that are so proud of their religion and will find any way to push it on  others, make me so uncomfortable and angry. I understand the need to have a spiritual connection but I don’t want to hear about it every second and have your thoughts and ideologies guide your every move. 

Presenting the dangers of disobeying the lord in a haunted house format is something that I never even considered. It would take a truly committed christian to think of something so insane. The fact that this ‘Trinity Church’ held auditions for this hell house was so off-putting to me. Making young girls compete against each other to play the ‘girl who gets raped’ is unbelievable. There was even a moment in the documentary when a man congratulated a friend for being cast as the ‘guy who rapes the girl’. 

If you are looking for a good ‘angry watch’, this one is for you. I can’t even say that I watched the whole thing. I was so upset by how insane the whole concept was, even though it was filmed over ten years ago, that I couldn’t sit through it all. 

Glorifying your own religious beliefs by putting them out there for everyone to see and making a show of how you follow the word of the Lord and fear the Devil just seems contradictory to everything that we are taught about what a loyal and serving Christian should be. I believe that you should just serve the Lord or whomever you want, (In my case it’s sometimes the TV Channel Bravo) and do what makes you happy and feel best. Just don’t force me to witness your religion or go through a ‘haunted house’ about the dangers of living in sin. 

Leave a comment